TeleTrusT is active

TeleTrusT - Bundesverband IT-Sicherheit e.V. ist Mitglied des European Telecommunications Standards Institute.

RSA Conference 2010

19th RSA Conference, 1st - 5th March 2010 in San Francisco, USA

The world's largest IT security conference was held again at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco. The RSA Conference is still the world’s leading exhibition for IT Security, with strong international participation. With again about 10,000 conference participants and more than 300 exhibitors this event consolidated its status. "IT Security made in Germany" was represented for the 10th time in a row with a joint exhibition supported by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) and the Trade Fair Committee of German Industry (AUMA) and organized by TeleTrusT. For the first time there was a scheduling overlap with CeBIT, which resulted, compared to the previous year, in significant restrictions in the exhibition and the conference for the German participation. Nevertheless, a total of 13 German companies, organizations and academic institutions, two of which with their own exhibition space and the others in an information center conveyed a convincing picture of the competence and competitiveness of the German IT security industry.

The institutions involved were art of defense, atsec information security GmbH, the Federal Office for Information Security, CORISECIO GmbH, cv cryptovision Inc., University of Hagen, Fraunhofer Institute SIT, Infineon Technologies AG, KOBIL Systems GmbH, NCP engineering GmbH, Rohde & Schwarz SIT GmbH, secunet Security Networks AG, TÜV Informationstechnik GmbH. With almost 200 m² stand space in the main axis of the exhibition the visibility of the German presence was further improved and with the status as a gold sponsor "IT Security made in Germany" was present for the conference participants on many occasions (keynote sessions, conference brochure, overview of the German offers in the conference bags of all participants). 

A supporting programme organized by TeleTrusT and the German partners also has a high priority. The scientific and technical dialogue between German and international colleagues was supported in a roundtable taking place on the opening day of the conference, this time on "Cloud Security". The high-quality contributions by Microsoft, RSA Security, Fraunhofer SIT, CORISECIO and art of defense can be downloaded from the TeleTrusT website. The "German Evening" reception at the German Consulate General, to which the Consul General, Peter Rothen, and TeleTrusT invited, traditionally also enjoys a good reputation. More than 80 international experts took advantage of this opportunity for intense networking.

The German presence at the RSA conference has been enhanced indirectly by a video during the keynote by (Microsoft), showing claim-based identity management in a university environment by means of a project by Fraunhofer FOKUS Berlin and Microsoft, involving the new German identity card.

Know-how from Germany was also offered in a panel session in the conference programme. The presentation "Network Access Technology in Progress – How to Manage Your IT Infrastructure" was followed by nearly 90 delegates and was discussed lively.

The following aspects dominated the conference:

  • After in the last few years the keynotes of the major companies in the IT security industry covered virtually all the core issues of security solutions, applications and services, this year Cloud Computing Security was the focus of the conference. The tendency to forecast innovative challenges and large markets behind the synonym Cloud Computing was strongly emphasized.
  • The topics Cyber Security and Cyber War were treated intensively by top representatives of the White House (Howard Schmidt, U.S. Cyber Security Coordinator), the Homeland Security Department (Janet Napolitano, U.S. DHS Secretary), the FBI (FBI Director Mueller III) and the NSA. The focus was on the adaptation of strategies to the new requirements of the Obama era and the need to intensify cooperation with industry and academia.
  • The public discussion on dealing with cryptography and telecommunication monitoring in cyberspace was revived.

In the course of RSA 2010 the traditional achievement prizes were awarded. Noteworthy for the international IT security industry are the award to David Chaum for his achievements in the development of DigiCash and cryptographic anonymity concepts as well as the appreciation for Whitfield Diffie’s „lifetime achievement”.

The keynotes almost always dealt with Cloud Computing Security. Besides application scenarios substantive issues such as Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS) and Infrastructure as a (IaaS) and virtualization of operating environments were interpreted differently. In particular infrastructure services were predicted as promising new business areas. The confidence of users in the market has been repeatedly demanded. Since in the cloud computing applications in general several service providers are involved, a convincing concept for an economically and legally „stable” risk management is still not noticeable. A similar situation exists for the protection of privacy in Cloud Computing.

The traditional Crypto panel took again place with Withfield Diffie, Martin Hellman, Ronald Rivest, Adi Shamir and the newcomer Brian Snow (NSA IAD). It was moderated by Ari Juels, head of development at EMC-RSA Security.

Exciting was the intense debate between the scientists and the representative from the NSA. While the scientists complained that the NSA experts responded too hesitantly to current results, such as of cryptanalysis, Snow pointed out that the lack of quality in the implementation of cryptographic mechanisms is the main source for security vulnerabilities. According to him the selection process for new crypto and hash algorithms needs to be carried out more carefully in the latest phase - and over a longer time period. In his point of view this thesis is supported by the current experiences with vulnerabilities in AES. A proving ground could be the currently ongoing last phase of the selection of new hash algorithms.

RSA Conference 2010

Bundesverband IT-Sicherheit e.V.

TeleTrusT engagiert sich

TeleTrusT - Bundesverband IT-Sicherheit e.V. ist Mitglied des European Telecommunications Standards Institute.

RSA Conference 2010

19. RSA Conference, 01. - 05.03.2010 in San Francisco, USA

Die weltgrößte IT-Sicherheitskonferenz fand im Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco statt. Die RSA Konferenz ist nach wie vor die Welt-Leitmesse für IT Security mit starker internationaler Beteiligung. Mit wiederum ca. 10.000 Konferenzteilnehmern und mehr als 300 Ausstellern hat diese Veranstaltung ihren Status auch in die Zukunft hinein weiter gefestigt. "IT Security made in Germany" war zum 10. Mal in Folge, mit einer vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) und vom Ausstellungs- und Messe-Ausschuss der deutschen Wirtschaft e. V. (AUMA) geförderten und von TeleTrusT organisierten Gemeinschaftsausstellung vertreten. Erstmals gab es in diesem Jahr eine terminliche Überschneidung mit der CeBIT, woraus sich für die deutsche Beteiligung an der Ausstellung und der Konferenz deutliche Beschränkungen ergaben. Trotzdem vermittelten insgesamt 13 deutsche Unternehmen, Institutionen und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen (davon zwei mit eigenen Ausstellungsflächen und die übrigen in einem Informationszentrum), ein überzeugendes Bild von der Kompetenz und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen IT-Sicherheitsbranche.

Die beteiligten Institutionen waren art of defence GmbH, atsec information security GmbH, Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik, CORISECIO GmbH, cv cryptovision Inc., FernUniversität Hagen, Fraunhofer Institut SIT, Infineon Technologies AG, KOBIL Systems GmbH, NCP engineering GmbH, Rohde & Schwarz SIT GmbH, secunet Security Networks AG, TÜV Informationstechnik GmbH. Mit fast 200 m² Standfläche in der Hauptachse der Ausstellung konnte die Sichtbarkeit der deutschen Präsenz weiter verbessert werden. Mit dem Status "Goldsponsor" für "IT Security made in Germany" war zudem verbunden, dass die Aufmerksamkeit der Konferenzteilnehmer zu vielen Gelegenheiten (Key Note Sessions, Konferenzbroschüre, Übersicht über das deutsche Angebot in den Konferenzmaterialien für alle Teilnehmer) auf die deutsche Beteiligung gelenkt wurde.

Einen hohen Stellenwert besaß das von TeleTrusT mit den am Gemeinschaftsauftritt Beteiligten gestaltete Rahmenprogramm. Gefördert wird der wissenschaftlich-technische Dialog zwischen deutschen und internationalen Fachkollegen in einem Round Table-Gespräch am Vortag der Konferenz, diesmal zum Thema "Cloud Security". Der Einladung in das deutsche Generalkonsulat in San Francisco folgten zahlreiche Fachkollegen. Die dort gebotenen hochkarätigen Beiträge von Microsoft, RSA Security, Fraunhofer SIT, CORISECIO und art of defence fanden gebührenden Anklang. Einen guten Ruf besitzt inzwischen auch der "Deutsche Abend" im Konsulat, zu dem der Generalkonsul, Peter Rothen, zusammen mit TeleTrusT einlud. Mehr als 80 internationale Experten nutzten diese Gelegenheit für intensives Networking.

Die deutsche Präsenz auf der RSA 2010 wurde durch ein Video in der Key Note von Scott Charney (Microsoft) aufgewertet, das anhand eines Projektes von Fraunhofer FOKUS Berlin und Microsoft ein Claim-basiertes Identitätsmanagement im universitären Umfeld unter Einbeziehung des neuen deutschen Personalausweises zeigte. Know-how aus Deutschland wurde ferner in einer Panel Session im Programm der Konferenz geboten.

Das Thema "Network Access Technology in Progress – How to Manage Your IT Infrastructure" erreichte fast 90 Zuhörer und wurde lebhaft diskutiert.

Folgende Aspekte prägten die Konferenz:

•    Nachdem in den letzten Jahren auch in den Key Notes der großen Unternehmen der IT-Sicherheitsbranche praktisch alle Kernthemen von Sicherheitslösungen, -anwendungen und -diensten angesprochen wurden, stand in diesem Jahr Security for Cloud Computing im Mittelpunkt der Überlegungen. Die Tendenz hinter dem Synonym Cloud Computing innovative Herausforderungen und große Märkte vorher zu sagen, war äußerst ausgeprägt.

•    Die Themen Cyber Security und Cyber War wurden intensiv von Spitzenvertretern des Weißen Hauses (Howard Schmidt, US Cybersecurity Coordinator), des Heimatschutz-Departments (Janet Napolitano, US DHS Secretary), des FBI (FBI Director Mueller III) und der NSA behandelt. Im Mittelpunkt standen die Anpassung der Strategien an neue Vorgaben der Obama-Ära und die notwendige Vertiefung der Kooperation mit der Wirtschaft und der Wissenschaft.

•    Wieder aufgenommen wurde die öffentliche Diskussion zum Umgang mit der Kryptographie und der Telekommunikationsüberwachung im ’Cyberspace’.

Im Verlauf der RSA 2010 wurden wiederum die traditionellen Ehrenpreise verliehen. Für die internationale IT-Sicherheitsbranche sind die Auszeichnungen von David Chaum für seine Leistungen bei der Entwicklung von DigiCash und kryptographische Anonymisierungskonzepte sowie die Würdigung der ’Lebensleistung’ von Whitfield Diffie beachtenswert.

Der inhaltliche Tenor der Key Notes lag fast durchgängig bei Cloud Computing Security. Neben Anwendungsvisionen wurden die inhaltlichen Aspekte wie Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS) und Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) sowie die Virtualisierung von Betriebsumgebungen differenziert interpretiert. Insbesondere bei Infrastrukturdiensten werden aussichtsreiche neue Geschäftsfelder vorhergesagt. Das Vertrauen der Anwender in Marktangebote wurde wiederholt eingefordert. Da bei den Cloud Computing Anwendungen im Allgemeinen mehrere Diensteanbieter beteiligt sind, ist allerdings ein überzeugendes Konzept für ein wirtschaftlich und rechtlich ’standfestes’ Risikomanagement noch nicht erkennbar. Ähnlich sieht es für den ebenfalls betonten Schutz der Privatsphäre bei Cloud Computing aus.

Das traditionelle Cryptopanel war wiederum mit Withfield Diffie, Martin Hellman, Ronald Rivest, Adi Shamir und diesmal neu Brian Snow (NSA IAD) prominent besetzt. Es wurde von Ari Juels, dem Entwicklungschef von EMC-RSA-Security moderiert. Spannend war die intensive Diskussion zwischen den Wissenschaftlern und dem Vertreter der NSA. Während die Wissenschaftler monierten, dass die NSA-Experten auf aktuelle Ergebnisse, z. B. der Kryptoanalyse, zu zögerlich reagierten, wies Snow darauf hin, dass nach wie vor die mangelnde Qualität bei der Implementierung von Kryptomechanismen Hauptquelle für Sicherheitsschwachstellen ist. Nach seiner Ansicht muss auch der Auswahlprozess für neue Krypto- und Hash-Algorithmen in der jeweils letzten Phase sorgfältiger – und über einen längeren Zeitraum – durchgeführt werden. Aus seiner Sicht wird diese These durch die laufenden Erkenntnisse zu Schwachstellen bei AES gestützt. Ein Bewährungsfeld kann die derzeit laufende letzte Phase der Auswahl neuer Hash-Algorithmen darstellen.  

RSA Conference 2010

TeleTrusT-Mitgliedschaft

TeleTrusT-Anbieterverzeichnis

Service: securityNews


Quelle: www.it-sicherheit.de

TeleTrusT-Mitglieder

Kooperationsnetzwerk